What is the UK?

There are three countries in Great Britain: England, Scotland and Wales. But the United Kingdom has four parts: England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland. Its full name is the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland (the UK). The UK is in Europe. The area of the UK is 244,880 square kilometres. The population of the UK is approximately 60,5 million. There are four main nationalities: English, Scots, Welsh and Irish*. The capital of the UK and England is London; the capital of Scotland is Edinburgh; the capital of Wales is Cardiff and the capital of Northern Ireland is Belfast.

To the north and east of the UK is the North Sea. To the west and south is the Atlantic Ocean. The most famous river is the Thames in London, but it is not i the longest. The river Severn is 354 kilometres (km) long. The two highest mountains are Ben Nevis in Scotland and Snowdon in Wales. The largest lakes are Lough Neagh in Northern Ireland and Loch Ness in Scotland. Two more lakes, Lake Windermere and Ullswater, are popular for sailing and water skiing.

Перевести текст

Перевод текста будет доступен здесь.